The Girls of Mersey Square by Pam Howes

The Girls of Mersey Square by Pam Howes was a book that I really wanted to read.  When Bookouture Publishers offered the Kindle book to me to read and review.  I was very excited.  However, I was very disappointed in the storyline and the novel itself.

I’m not a prude, but the love lives of the main characters really put me off.  The two sets of parents had been rock stars in earlier years and the husbands were going to get the band back together.  That is the backdrop of the story.  The laxity in the raising of their children was totally foreign to me.  Teenagers in and out of each other’s beds and the sexual content of the book was not my style of reading.

I was supposed to have this review done by the 18th of January, but I really wanted to be able to give it a strong “thumbs up”.  The best thing that I can say about this novel is that the characters are strong in the face of tragedy and betrayal.  I will say that Ms. Howes is a strong writer, but her choice of subject matter was not a good choice for me.

Leave a comment