Not My War by Valerie Anne Hudson

Not My War by Valerie Anne Hudson was downloaded for free from BookSirens for me to read and give my honest review.  I enjoyed the book, but it was not one of my favorites.  I think I was so irritated at the actions of the main character Louise, that I just couldn’t find myself liking her.

Having read many novels set during W.W.II, I found this book quite different.  Louise Bellingham had been at boarding school in England and returned home to Paris during the Nazi occupation.  She distanced herself from the horrors around her because she was not Jewish and wanted to enjoy a fun-filled life.  Reluctantly helping the Resistance, she is also seeing a Nazi officer.  She eventually has to make a choice between her family and her officer.  As she continues to live in Paris and witnesses the atrocities that the Nazis bring to the city, she must take a stand and decide whose side she is on.

I do think that the author wrote this novel well and her characters developed as the book went on.  I will say that the story was redeemed in my eyes at the end.  Actually, the novel brought me to the idea that many Parisians had their own coping mechanism to deal with the invasion. I received a Kindle copy of this book from BookSirens in return for my honest review.

Leave a comment