The Swindler’s Daughter by Stephenia H. McGee

I just finished reading The Swindler’s Daughter by Stephenia H. McGee.  I was thrilled to receive a print copy from Revell Publishing in return for my honest review.

Truthfully, when I started this book, I was not immediately drawn to the characters or the plot of the book.  I certainly did not like the character of Lillian Doyle’s mother.  I felt sorry for Lillian immediately. 

Lillian has long believed that her father was dead, then she receives news that her father has just died in prison, leaving her all his worldly goods.  However, she must travel to a backwoods town in rural Georgia to take possession or sell anything that has value and return to her home in Atlanta.  Things are not as straightforward as they should be and Lillian becomes involved with another person who has taken possession of the house that should have been hers.  She becomes very attached to this little town and its residents and decides to stay and make her living there. 

So many things stand in her way, from dealing with a swindling cohort of her father to being accused of murder, to dealing with the suspicions of the townspeople because of her link to her father.

I found myself hating to put this book down because of the pace of the writing by Ms. McGee.  I will be looking for more books by this talented writer. I received a print copy of this book from Revell in return for my honest review. 

Leave a comment