Tag Archive | Ohio

“Her Secret” by Shelley Shepard Gray

Shelley Shepard Gray begins a new series, The Amish of Hart County with “Her Secret”.  Hannah Hilty and her family, mother, father, brother and sister, have been forced to move from their home in Ohio to a small town, Munfordville, Kentucky.  Their reason for selling out and moving is to get away from someone who is stalking Hannah.  Some in the family think that Hannah is over reacting to notes, flowers and unwanted gifts.  However, the stalker was getting more brazen and scary.  Hannah’s brother and sister, especially, are having problems adjusting to a smaller town with all that small towns bring with them.  Hannah does not venture out unless it is necessary.  She is a virtual prisoner in her own home because of her fear of being the target of the stalker again, when she befriends a young man who is her neighbor.  She is trying to let herself become her own person again and not be afraid of her own shadow.  However, things start happening to make her think that her pursuer is back.  She knows who it is and she seems to think that he has followed her and her family to their new location.  She is not mistaken though, and her fears increase as the stalker comes closer and closer to her.  She has to decide whether or not to let him take over her life or overcome her fears and choose to let people into her life who can help her.

I thought that this was a really good Amish thriller.  It didn’t take me long to read it because I enjoyed it so much.  I received a print copy of this book from Litfuse.com in return for my honest review.


“A Son’s Vow” by Shelley Shepard Gray

Shelley Shepard Gray is a noted author of Amish novels.  She has many series that she has written and many books that I have read.  “A Son’s Vow” is book one in the Charmed Amish Life Series.  The setting for this story is an actual small town in Ohio, called Charm.  I assume that the next books in the series will also be set in Charm, Ohio and will continue with stories about the families introduced in this first book of the series.

This novel concerns the problems in the aftermath of a mill fire that killed five Amish men.  The town is bent on blaming one of the dead men as the one who accidently started the fire.  The town has taken sides and this is hard for the families who have lost loved ones.  So many have been hurt and many have caused pain for others.  Aaron Lurtz has vowed to his father that if anything happened to him, Aaron would take over the responsibility of caring for the family and the farm.  Since the accident, Aaron has been rather nasty to his family, his co-workers and others.  This novel is one of forgiveness.  The process by which the people of the town of Charm and the families involved in the accidental fire is inspiring.  I always learn something from the stories written by Ms. Gray.

I received a print copy of this book from LitFuse Publicity in return for my honest review.

“After the Storm” by Linda Castillo

Linda Castillo has written a gripping mystery novel, “After the Storm”.  I had read another book by Ms. Castillo, “The Dead Will Tell”, which was very good.  I especially like reading about Kate Burkholder the Chief of Police in Painters Mill, Ohio.  She was raised in the Amish culture, but decided that their way of life was not for her.  I read this book more quickly than others because I was so involved in the story.  I like the way the Amish and English ways of life continue to exist alongside each other with little animosity, until a murder occurs.  Then it’s up to Kate to ferret out just who and what occurred.  Very well done, Ms. Castillo!  I am definitely going to read all the books in this series of mysteries.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

“Fearless Hope” by Serena B. Miller

Serena B. Miller has written a beautiful novel, “Fearless Hope”.  When I started reading this book, I thought “ho-hum, another Amish novel”.  But I was pleasantly surprised.  This novel could have taken many turns because the story line kept spinning off in different directions.  This would not be something I liked, except that it certainly kept my interest because I kept waiting for something else to happen.

This is the story of a newly widowed Old Order Amish woman with two children and pregnant with a third.  She starts housekeeping for an Englischer author who has writer’s block and who purchased her old family home.  There he hopes that the peace and quiet will inspire him to finish his new book in his series.  He finds more than he bargained for and finds purpose for his life.

I think this novel was very well written.  I have read Ms. Miller’s novels before and they have never disappointed me.  This was no exception.  I highly recommend this book.  What a great way to spend a rainy afternoon!

I received a free print copy of this book from Howard Books for my honest review.   The opinions expressed here are my own.