“Moral Defense” by Marcia Clark

I had heard about Marcia Clark’s books, but had never read them, so I was excited to do a review of “Moral Defense”.  As a former prosecutor, I was interested in her writing style in this genre.

The beginning of the novel vividly describes a crime scene as it is taking place.  The murder of a young man, his father and the wounding of his mother is brutal.  As we read, we see in our mind the murder scene and it is horrifying.  The lone survivor of this family’s demise is the adopted daughter.  What follows is a tale of twists and turns which keeps the reader guessing to the end about who perpetrated this crime.  Samantha Brinkman, a lawyer, is given the case when the daughter, Cassie, is charged with the murders.

Samantha is a lawyer, it’s true, but there are many facets of this character.  I was surprised that she was portrayed at times as a sleazebag herself.  She orchestrated revenge, set up victims, and dallied with the cartels.  However, she did do her best for her clients, no matter if they were guilty or innocent…most were guilty.  The fact that she was involved in shady dealings did not endear her to me.  I finished the book because I had to know who the murderer was, but I read this novel with a distaste that left me not really liking the book at all.

I received a free print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com.  No review positive or otherwise was required – all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

