“Honor Redeemed” by Christine Johnson

I was very excited to find that I was selected to receive “Honor Redeemed” by Christine Johnson for an unrequired review.  I usually enjoy most books by this publisher.

This story is about a young woman, Prosperity Jones, who is engaged to marry a soldier, an army engineer, who has been posted to Key West in order to build a fort to help protect America from Spanish ships.  She has stayed behind in Nantucket to take care of her ill mother.  After her mother passes, she has nowhere to go and no money to speak of.  She decides to travel to Key West alone to go to her fiancé.  Unbeknownst to her, her beloved David has gotten himself into a lot of trouble.  He has gone out on the town one night and doesn’t remember any of it.  A couple of months later he is approached by a woman who claims she is carrying his child.  Being a man of honor, he sees no way out but to marry her and break his engagement to Prosperity.  All is not what it seems however and the reader is continually wondering how this man can be so dense.  Although I liked the book and it was pleasant to read, I became so irritated by the “honor” of David that I wanted to reach in the pages and strangle him.  I wasn’t very enamored by Prosperity either.  She gave up too easily.  I wanted to see more spunk from her.  This was not one of my favorite books.

I received a free print copy of this book from Revell.  No review positive or otherwise was required – all opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

