“Among the Wicked” by Linda Castillo

“Among the Wicked” was written by Linda Castillo and is one book in the Kate Burkholder series.  One of her novels was adapted into a Lifetime original movie.  I have read her work before and knew I was destined for a long time on the couch reading this book.  In fact, I finished it in record time because each time the page was turned, something exciting happened.  In this particular novel, Kate Burkholder, an ex-Amish Chief of Police in Painters Mill, Ohio, is called upon by the state police in New York to go undercover to find out just what is happening in a very remote and rural Amish community near Roaring Springs, New York.  Something sinister is going on.  There has been the discovery of a young Amish girl frozen to death.  The Amish community is not talking.  There is a new bishop who has taken over the community and with his rule, the Amish seemingly are running scared.  Kate is called upon because she speaks Pennsylvania Dutch and because she knows the ways of the Amish.

From chapter one on, the suspense heightened with each page.  I literally carried this book with me everywhere in order to take each opportunity to read on.  Kate is undercover as an Amish widow and is put in mortal danger.  I think I held my breath throughout one whole chapter.  I’m sure that anyone enjoying crime and mystery novels will love this one.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

