“To Follow Her Heart” by Rebecca DeMarino

Rebecca DeMarino’s Southold Chronicles series began with “A Place in His Heart”, which was set in England in the 1600’s.  Because of religious persecution, the Horton’s eave England for the New World and freedom.  “To Follow Her Heart” is a continuation of this series and the third book.  I missed reading the second in the series, “To Capture Her Heart” which I regret.  Although the books stand alone it would help with character recognition if you read them in order.

I enjoyed reading this book and finding out what happened to the Horton family in America.  Patience Terry has traveled to America and lives in the same town as the Horton’s.  She and Mary and Lizzie are the best of friends.  She is also in love with Jeremy Horton, a sea captain and brother of Mary’s husband Barnabas.  She has vowed to wait for Jeremy to decide to give up the sea and marry her.  After he is shipwrecked he comes back to Southold to start anew.  Patience is sure that Jeremy is ready to marry and settle down.  After wedding plans are continually pushed back by Jeremy, Patience has a decision to make.  Will she wait or will she not.  Frankly, I became quite irritated with both of them.  I am not the sort of person who would put up with this for very long myself.  My irritation colored my reading experience of this novel.  I also felt that something was missing as I had not read the second book in the series.  I would recommend reading these books in order.

I was sent a free print copy by NightOwl.com and Revell in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

