“The Pursuit of Pearls” by Jane Thynne

“The Pursuit of Pearls” by Jane Thynne is one book in the Clara Vine series.  Not only is the novel’s plot in my favorite genre, a World War II historical theme, but it is expertly written.  This is a spy novel at its best.  The main character, Clara Vine, an actress for the Reich, and a spy for the British government, is wonderfully portrayed.  I was so immersed in this novel that I really read more slowly than I usually do because I didn’t want the book to end.  Ms. Thynne’s inclusion of prominent names of the era and their interaction with Clara was brilliant.  We get a sense in this book of the highly emotional, tense, and dangerous every day existence of the inhabitants of Berlin…the hunters and the hunted.  I have a tendency to live in the books I read.  I feel as though I was actually experiencing what Clara did and having the same fear and terror that she felt at times.  This to me is the epitome of good writing.  Jane Thynne is one of my most favorite writers and I will read all that she writes.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

