“The Loyal Heart” by Shelley Shepard Gray

“The Loyal Heart” by Shelley Shepard Gray is her first in the Lone Star Hero’s Love Story series.  I enjoyed reading this novel which takes place after the Civil War in Galveston, Texas.  A group of Confederate soldiers were imprisoned in a Union Army POW camp on Johnson Island in Lake Erie until the end of the war.  These men made a pact to always be there for each other when needed.  One of the men, Phillip Markham died of his injuries in the prison and Captain Devon Monroe contacts Robert Truax to travel to Galveston to see how Markham’s widow is faring.  Rumors are that she is in trouble and needs the assistance of her husband’s friends.

I enjoyed reading this novel very much as I do all of Ms. Shepard’s books.  I am excited to read novels set post-Civil War as the end of the war did end some hostilities right away.  Sometimes stories about the aftermath of conflict hold readers’ interest more than stories about the battlegrounds.  I am anxious to read further novels in the series.

I was sent a print copy of this book by LitFuse Publicity.com in return for my honest review.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s