“52 Ways to Connect with Your Smartphone Obsessed Kid” by Jonathan McKee

I normally do not like to review non-fiction books, but when I was asked to review this book, “52 Ways to Connect with Your Smartphone Obsessed Kid”, I thought the topic was so relevant in today’s society that I decided to read the book.  Jonathan McKee is a writer, speaker, the president of  The Source for Youth Ministry, married and the father of three.

I found that his advice on dealing with the non-communicative teenagers of today was on the mark.  His recommendations on getting your kids to talk to YOU instead of texting away to their friends were easy to do and also fair.  Although all of these methods will not work for everyone’s children, at least some are worth a try.  My children and their spouses are glued to their screens also and I’m tempted to try some of these methods out on them when they come to visit.  How much fun is it to sit in a room full of adults who are watching their phone screens and their thumbs are doing the texting dance.  We end up watching them play on their phones.  Not fun for the older folks, I can tell you.  If you can try to nip this behavior in the bud it may have a great effect in the long run.  Although my kids are grown, my sister has two teenagers and I am going to make sure that she reads this book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

