“Brooklyn on Fire” by Lawrence H. Levy

I love historical fiction, especially when mixed with a little mystery.  “Brooklyn on Fire” by Lawrence H. Levy was one of those books that I like to read.  This novel is about Mary Handley, a woman detective, which is almost unheard of in that era of 1890.  Mary is not only a great detective, but her humor and sometime mutterings left me laughing.  Mary is trying to solve the murder of her brother’s fiancée.  He is a policeman, but is charged with her murder.  Something is fishy in Brooklyn in more ways than one.  There are machinations going on within New York and Brooklyn that involve the politicians and their schemes.  It seems that Mary and her brother are getting too close to finding out exactly what is going on.  Both of their lives are in danger.

This book was hard to put down.  I was intrigued by the appearance of great figures of the day, the Vanderbilts, Carnegies and Rockefellers and their supposed connection with the story.  Some of these events actually took place and the telling of this story highlighted those events, innocuous as they may have seemed.

I really enjoyed reading this novel.  I think I will be reading more Mary Handley mysteries in the future.   I was sent a print copy of this book by BloggingforBooks.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

