Playing the Part by Jen Turano

I was lucky enough to have been chosen to be a reviewer of Jen Turano’s book, “Playing the Part”.  I am a fan of all things from the 19th century.  I started this book with a sort of ho-hum attitude.  However the story developed into one of the most entertaining novels I have read.  I actually laughed out loud at a couple of points in the story.  This book was not only interesting, but highly amusing.  I thought that it was delightful.

Lucetta Plum is a highly acclaimed actress whose very life is threatened by a overly obsessed stage-door Johnny, as these over-eager fans are called.  However, this particular fan is also very dangerous and his intentions are nefarious.  Lucetta’s dear friend, Abigail, insists that Lucetta repair to her grandson’s estate where hopefully she will be kept safe.  The goings-on at the estate are uproariously funny and kept me reading just to see what would happen next.  I think you will really enjoy this delightful book.  I especially enjoyed the surprise ending.

I would like to thank LitFuse Publicity for allowing me to read and review this book in return for a free copy and I was never asked to write a favorable review by anyone.

Leave a Reply

