“The Barren Bride” by Cassandra Michaels

Cassandra Michaels is a new writer of romance novels.  I read “The Barren Bride” along with four more of her stories.  I would consider these short stories instead of full-fledged novels.  Because Ms. Michaels is new on the scene of fiction writing, I gave her a lot of margin for accomplishment as I read her works.  However, I really must say that although I think Ms. Michaels has potential, I felt as though these stories were written by someone with less education in the art of writing than she has.  The other aspect of some of these stories is the intimacy that occurs upon a first meeting.  I would not characterize these stories as “clean romance” with the scenes as depicted.  I would suggest that Ms. Michaels re-write these stories with a better regard for more descriptive writing and concentration on the complexity of the characters.  I think that readers would be more drawn to this author if that were present.

I purchased a free e-copy of this book from Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

