“The Scent of Secrets” by Jane Thynne

“The Scent of Secrets” by Jane Thynne was a book that I label “a keeper”.  Not only is the novel’s plot in my favorite genre, a World War II historical theme, but it is expertly written to bring out the characters’ innermost strengths and weaknesses.  This is a spy novel at its best.  The main character, Clara Vine, an actress for the Reich, and a spy for the British government, is wonderfully portrayed.  I must say that the book started slowly for me, but swiftly became riveting in its theme.  I’m not sure if Nazi Germany was as dangerous for everyone every day as depicted, but the distrust and suspicion that each person brought to the story was intimidating and frightening.  I was afraid for Clara with each encounter and that feeling definitely kept me hooked on the book.  I am anxiously looking forward to reading more of Ms. Thynne’s books with Clara Vine as the main character and any other novels of hers that I can find to read.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

