“Christmas Bells” by Jennifer Chiaverini

I was so excited to be able to review “Christmas Bells” by Jennifer Chiaverini.  I have always been impressed with Ms. Chiaverini’s writing because of wonderful plots, developed characters and descriptive prose.  However, this book left me wanting more of that.  The plot seemed disjointed because of the switch back and forth between time periods.  The characters were good, but I was not sure of their connection.  Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s poem “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” was the basis for the story woven about the lyrics and song.  I got that, but I never was comfortable with the connections between now and then.  Perhaps I missed something.  I did enjoy reading each section almost as a stand-alone story.  In that respect, I enjoyed the book.  However, it seemed more of an anthology to me.  I will continue to read all that Ms. Chiaverini writes and hope that this book was just a mistake.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

