“Home for Christmas” by Lily Everett

I began reading “Home for Christmas” by Lily Everett and thought to myself, “Now, where have I heard this story before?  Then it came to me!  The book is loosely based on a 1945 film, “Christmas in Connecticut” starring Barbara Stanwyck and Dennis Morgan.  In that movie Ms. Stanwyck is a homemaking article writer who is coerced into hosting Christmas for a soldier injured in WW II in her Sanctuary Island home town.  The trouble is, she can’t cook and she is definitely NOT a homemaker.  That’s when the fun begins.  In this literary remake of the film, magazine columnist Libby Leeds is forced by her editor to host a returning wounded war hero for a “family” Christmas dinner.  Owen, the hero, is meeting his young daughter for the first time and wants her to enjoy a magical Christmas.  The characters in this book provide a convoluted, but humorous story line.  Just as I enjoyed the movie, I also enjoyed reading this book.  I highly recommend it for a Christmas feel-good read.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

