“Spirit of the Valley” by Jane Shoup

When I read the teaser for the next book in the “Valley” series by Jane Shoup, I knew I had to read it.  I had read the first book in the series and was so intrigued by Ms. Shoup’s writing that I definitely wanted to read each book in the series.  So, I finished “Spirit of the Valley” in record time because it was so fast-paced and interesting.  Ms. Shoup makes sure that one does not get bored reading her novels.  The female characters are strong individuals who have been dealt a hard hand and have to run away from abusive relationships to a better life.  Pauline Ray, with her two children, is running away from her abusive husband in Indiana, knowing that if she stayed he would eventually kill her.  She goes as far as her money will take them and ends up in Green Valley, West Virginia.  She is befriended by two eccentric and interesting sisters who take her in and find a way that she can become someone else.  A very nice man who is harboring a very sad past comes to help her out by doing odd jobs around her home, which is in disrepair.  Events keep occurring that make the reader loathe to stop reading even for a minute.  I highly recommend this book.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

