“For the Love of Mike” by Rhys Bowen

“For the Love of Mike” by Rhys Bowen is a Molly Murphy Mystery.  This is the third book in the series and I really wish I had started with the first one.  Although this is a stand-alone book, I would like to have read about Molly before.  She has taken over her deceased boss’s business as a private investigator, back when women were not generally found doing this type of work, and to the chagrin of her police captain ex-boyfriend.  She is asked to go undercover in the garment industry to find someone who is stealing the fashions before they can be produced by the designed and who is putting them on the market under their own name.

I thought that the story line was quite engaging.  I especially like the Irish banter and wit that is prevalent among the characters.  I could truly imagine life as it was in New York in 1901.  The immigrants, who are seeking a better life, find themselves housed in tenements and eking out a living for little or no money.  Most have left relatives behind in the Old Country and are trying to make enough to send for them.  I really liked reading about this time period.

I was sent a print copy of this book by Night Owl Reviews in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

