“Where Treasure Hides” by Johnnie Alexander

I loved “Where Treasure Hides”,  a debut novel by Johnnie Alexander, so much that towards the end of the book, I tried to read more slowly to prolong the experience.

This novel begins in the days before England declares war on Germany and before Hitler invades The Netherlands.  Alison Schuyler meets Ian Devlin by chance at Waterloo Station as he is trying to help one of the Jewish refugee children.  They continue their acquaintance even though each is headed in a different direction.  Alison goes back to Rotterdam to help her grandfather hide art treasures before the Nazis arrive and Ian ends up retreating from France at Dunkirk.  I hesitate to reveal more of this story because I don’t want to spoil the reading experience for anyone else.

I have a few favorite authors who write about history in a way that is interesting and riveting and Ms. Alexander is now one of them.  I could not find real documentation for certain events, but I’m sure they very possibly could have happened during this turbulent time.  This novel had so much appeal mainly because the storyline continually provided a tense drama that kept me reading well into the night.  It was also well written and the characters brought the story to life for me.

I received a print copy of this book from Tyndale Publishers in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

