“Beyond the Ashes” by Karen Barnett

Second in The Golden Gate Chronicles series is “Beyond the Ashes” by Karen Barnett.  In Sacramento, California, Ruby Marshall is struggling to find a new life following the death of her beloved husband.  She decides to go to San Francisco to help her brother, a doctor, deal with the aftermath of the great earthquake of 1906.  Her brother, Robert, and his fellow doctor, Gerald Larkspur have been experimenting with a new treatment for cancer.  They are using an X-ray machine to try to contain cancer cells.  Ruby comes to offer her nursing experiences to them, not looking for romance, but finding it with Gerald.  However, because of using the X-ray, he has developed cancer and does not want to burden Ruby.  The story continues with both Robert and Ruby seeking their destiny with those they love.  I thought this book was well written and enjoyed reading it.  The historical sense of the book was also very intriguing.

I was sent a free print copy of the book by the Litfuse Publicity Group in return for my honest review of the book.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s