“Invisible city” by Julia Dahl

I really did not think that I would like “Invisible city” by Julia Dahl, but I signed up to review it and had to read it.  Actually “had” is not the right word.   I was hooked after the first chapter.  The story concerns Rebekah, a fledgling reporter  for a small newspaper trying to find that one good story.  Right now, she is just a stringer, chasing leads given by her editors.  She is also haunted by the fact that her mother, an Hasidic Jew, left her and her father soon after she was born.

She is assigned a story about the killing of the wife of a prominent Hasidic Jew in Brooklyn.  This woman was a wife and mother of four children.  Something is amiss in the investigation of this murder though.  It seems that the authorities look the other way when crimes occur in the Orthodox community.  There has been no autopsy and the investigation seems at a standstill.  Rebekah is determined to follow all the leads she can to get justice for this poor woman.  There are so many twists and turns in this story that I had to read until I finished the book.  I surely did not see the end coming and because of this, the book kept my interest throughout.  I highly recommend this novel, not only for its thrills and mystery, but as a story that gives insight about a sect of people and their beliefs and the fact that this community is a city within a city..

I received a free print copy of the book in return for my honest opinion of the book from NightOwlReviews.com.

Leave a Reply

