“Shady Cross” by James Hankins

I did not think I would enjoy this novel from the very first chapter.  “Shady Cross” by James Hankins is a book about Stokes, a small time criminal in the little town of Shady Cross, Indiana, who happens upon a kidnapping and ransom plot.  For once in his life, he is determined to do the right thing and save a little girl from some very bad men.  The story actually takes place in the space of 13 hours.  I didn’t want to like this novel because some of the plot was very gruesome, but I was drawn in just to see what Stokes would end up doing.  The fact that the drama took place in such a small amount of time made me breathless at times.  It seemed that every time Stokes got a lead, something would happen to mess it up.   I was very surprised at the ending and could not have guessed who was behind the kidnapping.  The fact that I was kept guessing kept my interest in the book.

I really enjoyed reading this novel and would recommend it as a very good mystery-thriller.  I was sent a print copy of this book by NightOwlReviews.com and downloaded a free Kindle copy from NetGalley.com in return for my honest reviews.

Leave a Reply

