“Safe in His Arms” by Colleen Coble

“Safe in His Arms” by Colleen Coble was an interesting book to read.  Margaret O’Brien is the only daughter of Paddie O’Brien, whose ranch is one of the biggest in the territory around Larson, Texas.  She acts more like a boy than a girl.  Her father is determined to change that around.  Fully expecting to inherit the ranch should something happen to her father, she is extremely upset that he has decided to leave it to a nephew because he doesn’t think a woman should be in charge of a business like his ranch.  He hires a new foreman without her knowledge.  Margaret decides to hate the man for taking her place.  The story goes on from there.  I did enjoy reading this novel.  However, I could not believe that with each chapter came some calamity.  It seems that anything and everything that could happen in Texas did happen.  I became weary of reading about all the situations Margaret got herself into.   I don’t want to spoil the story for anyone who wants to read this book, and I may be the only one who thinks that way.  The story surrounding each calamity was written well, but there were so many of them.    I have read this author’s work before and enjoyed it.  Perhaps this book just wasn’t for me.

I downloaded a free Kindle copy of this book by NetGalley.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

