“Hope Rising” by Stacy Henrie

“Hope Rising” by Stacy Henrie is a novel about World War I in France.  It is the second book in the “Of Love and War” series.  The United States Army Nurse Corp, established in 1901, had approximately 10,000 nurses serving overseas.  If these nurses married or became pregnant, they were honorably discharged and sent home.

This story is about one of those nurses.  She discovers that she is pregnant and tells Ralph, but he is killed in the trenches before they can be married.  Corporal Joel Campbell is brought into the hospital where she is working.  Unknown to her, Joel was Ralph’s best friend and blames himself for Ralph’s death because he ordered him to take half of the troops, with Joel taking the other half, to cross a meadow.  The Germans lobbed a grenade into Ralph’s group, killing him and others.

This story seems real as Ms. Henrie portrays it.  My grandfather fought in France in WW I, but would never talk about it.  The description of the hellish conditions of combat, the bombardments, and deprivations that are described make the reader feel that he is right there in the midst of battle.  I always tend to put myself in the novels I read because I feel so much more a part of the story.  I noticed during reading this book that after I stopped the story stayed with me for a while.  I am determined to read all the books in this series and to look for more books by Stacy Henrie.

I was sent a free print copy of this book by Night Owl Reviews, and a free Kindle copy from NetGalley.com in return for my honest assessment of the book.

One thought on ““Hope Rising” by Stacy Henrie

  1. Thanks for reading and reviewing it! And thanks for sharing that part about your grandfather. None of my ancestors were old enough or young enough to fight in that war, but I have such respect for those who did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

