“Through the Glass” by Shannon Moroney

This review of “Through the Glass” by Shannon Moroney is a really hard one for me to write.  The first chapter begins, while Shannon is at a convention, with a knock on the hotel door as Shannon is writing thank you notes for gifts received at her wedding which took place about a month before.  There stands a police officer who gives her the news that her husband of one month has been arrested for sexual assaults and rape.  She is in disbelief.

I really didn’t want to read this book because the subject matter was so distasteful to me.  After a few chapters, I found that this slant of the story was not on the criminal or the victims of the assault, but on the repercussions such a crime had on the family of the perpetrator.  These “victims” are both loved and despised by those who were their friends and acquaintances.  People tend to transfer their horror of what happened to the people that the rapist was supposed to love.

I think I had a hard time with this book because at the beginning, Shannon Moroney makes the reader sympathize with and believe in the good character of the man she meets.  Even though she knows about his past criminal activities, she and the parole officers and psychiatrists believe that Jason had paid his dues and was now a new person entirely.

As I read further, I found that I was also one who was at the same time sympathetic and critical of the actions of the wife.  How could she have not seen what was lurking in her husband’s mind?  I also found myself, at times, feeling compassion for Jason and what circumstances brought him to this end.  I thought the book to be a heart-wrenching true story of the struggle of one woman to come to terms with the true character of the man she loved and go on with her life.  Although very hard to read, I did like this book for what it taught me.

I was sent a free print copy of this book by Night Owl Reviews in return for my honest assessment of the book.

Leave a Reply

