“The Remedy for Love” by Bill Roorbach

After reading some of the reviews on the cover of this book, I was anxious to read “The Remedy for Love” by Bill Roorbach.  A romance novel written by a man would certainly have a different slant than those written by most romance novelists.  Well, I was right about that.

I had a most difficult time trying to figure out the characters, the plot, the dialogue…just about everything about this novel was beyond me.  I know it is the story of two people, two strangers, trapped in a ramshackle cabin during a ferocious Maine blizzard.  That’s about the gist of it.

I couldn’t figure out why Danielle was so disheveled, hateful, and belligerent.  I also couldn’t figure out what was wrong with Eric.  The dialogue was full of four letter words that really didn’t give me much in trying to understand what exactly was wrong with these two people.  Perhaps if I re-read it, I would like it more.  I read until the end, but I must admit to skipping quite a few pages of prose that did nothing for me.  I’m sure there are other readers who would really enjoy this kind of novel.  There was a story there, just not a story for me.

I received a print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

