“Surprised by Love” by Julie Lessman

I read “Surprised by Love” by Julie Lessman, which is the third book in The Heart of San Francisco series.  I also read the second novel, “Dare to Love Again”.

This latest book is the continuation of the story of Caitlyn McClare and her daughters as part of the privileged set in San Francisco at the start of the 20th century.  This story is about Megan, who has been sort of an ugly duckling for most of her life.  But after spending a year studying in Paris and staying with friends of her mothers, she comes home a raving beauty.  Her best friend and protector for most of her life, Bram, is suddenly attracted to her, and not as a friend.  It is also the story of Caitlyn and her brother-in-law, Logan, and their (sometimes painfully rendered) relationship.

I did like this book, but as with the other novel by Ms. Lessman, I found it a very slow read.  The dialogue was probably somewhat like that spoken then, but I found it at times trite.  I must admit I skipped a lot of pages because the plot seemed to slow down and did not hold my interest quite so much.  I was anxious to read this second book by Ms. Lessman to see if my earlier thoughts would be dispelled, but I’m sorry to say that I found both books were not my favorites.

I was sent a free print copy of this book by Revell Reads in return for my honest assessment of the book.

Leave a Reply

