“When Mercy Rains” by Kim Vogel Sawyer

“When Mercy Rains” by Kim Vogel Sawyer is the first book in the Zimmerman Restoration Trilogy.  The secrets of an Old Order Mennonite family threaten to destroy them.  Suzanne, a 17 year old girl finds herself in trouble.  Her mother sends her away in shame.  However, she stays in Indiana, becoming a nurse and raising a daughter.  Twenty years after she left home, she is contacted by a brother to come and nurse her sick mother.  She reluctantly returns to Kansas to face her family, community and first love.  Suzanne hopes that she will find forgiveness for long ago transgressions, but she is not counting on that.  Her past will eventually come to affect all those she loves.

I liked this book, however, I was very put off by the reactions of Suzanne’s family during her problems and after she returned to them.  I think this book left me a little unsettled.  However, I would still recommend this novel.  Kim Vogel Sawyer is a wonderful writer of stories of faith and hope.

I was sent a free print copy of the book by NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest opinion of the book.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s