“Letters from Skye” by Jessica Brockmole

“Letters from Skye” by Jessica Brockmole was a beautifully written love story.  It takes place in the form of letters between an American and a woman, a poet actually, who lives on the island of Skye.  The story begins innocently when the American writes a letter to the author of a book of poems that he has just read.  She answers back and the correspondence begins.

The timeframe of this novel is from the start of World War I in England to the end of World War II.  I have never read a novel that was a collection of letters between two people.  I thought that I would find this type of novel very hard to follow.  However, after reading a few of the letters, I found that the letters really gave an insight to the two different worlds the writers lived in.  I had a whole other scenario in mind during the reading of this book.  I was able to picture both people in my mind just where they might be in that time.  I was unprepared for the ending so you will want to read this book to the very end.

I was sent a free print copy of the book by NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest opinion of the book.

Leave a Reply

