“Seasons of Tomorrow” by Cindy Woodsmall

Cindy Woodsmall’s series Amish Vines and Orchards concludes with the fourth book, “Seasons of Tomorrow”.  I read the other three books in the series and enjoyed every one.  The fourth book in the series was no exception.

I found that the culmination of the multiple stories very satisfying.  This book tied together all the threads of the characters’ lives which is what I was hoping for.  There were so many plots and sub-plots throughout the series and at times it was difficult to remember who belonged to which family.

I was also struck by the narrow-mindedness of some of the characters of the Amish faith and their strict adherence to the Ordnung which is their prescription for how their lives should be led.  In this particular series, I felt that the old ways were so restrictive that there was no room for any individual to have a say in how they wanted to live their life.  I found this to be quite irritating as I was reading about it.  However, this only made me want to turn the page to the next problem and keep going to find the solutions.  I truly enjoyed reading this book and found myself asking if I were that judgmental about others around me.

I was sent a free print copy by Waterbrook Press and Bloggingforbooks.com in return for my honest review.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s