“The Hidden Child” by Camilla Läckberg

I have just finished reading “The Hidden Child” by Camilla Läckberg.   It is a story about a crime writer and her policeman husband who are trading child-care responsibilities for their one-year-old daughter for a while.  Erika Falck and her husband, Detective Patrick Falck have become involved in a murder, but each for different reasons.  Erika has found, among her mother’s possessions, a Nazi medal and goes to a noted Nazi scholar to see if he knows anything about this medal.  Two days later he is viciously murdered.  After a few months, Patrick, who is taking paternity leave from the force, just happens to become involved in solving the murder of this Nazi scholar.  He just cannot stay away from his work and Erika and he decide to join forces, so to speak, to try to solve the crime.  In some way, Erika’s mother and the slain man have a history that began in war-time Sweden.  As the title suggests, there is another aspect of this story that doesn’t present itself until later in the novel.

I had a hard time reading this novel because there were so many characters whose lives were intertwined in the past and in the present.  The novel switches back and forth between war time and present time and for me it was hard to keep the characters straight.  However, that is my problem, not a problem with the novel itself.

I think this was a very good book.  I would highly recommend this novel to anyone with an interest in murder mysteries or anyone interested in war-time Europe during the 1940’s.  I may read this novel again because I think I would be more focused on the story instead of the characters the second time around.

I received a free print copy of this book from NightOwlReviews.com for my honest review.   The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

