“The Traitor’s Wife” by Allison Pataki

Congratulations and “bravo” to Allison Pataki, whose first novel “The Traitor’s Wife”, is a wonderful work of historical fiction.  This was an excellent book in all ways.  I didn’t think I would be interested in the influence that Peggy Shippen, Benedict Arnold’s wife, had on his traitorous actions against the Revolutionary Army, but I was entranced from the beginning chapter.  The story as told by Peggy’s maid is all the more intriguing from her viewpoint.  Everything about this novel is exciting and incredibly well done.  I was shifted back and forth between Clara’s story and the dramatic actions of Peggy Shippen both before and after her marriage to Benedict Arnold.

I hope Ms. Pataki is immersed in writing her next novel because I eagerly look forward to a new historical fiction offering by Allison Pataki.

I received a free print copy of this book from Howard Books, for my honest review.  The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

