“On Heaven and Earth” by Jorge Mario Bergoglio and Abraham Skorka

“On Heaven and Earth” by Jorge Mario Bergoglio, now Pope Francis, and Abraham Skorka, an Argentine Rabbi, is a dialogue between the two men regarding church in the 21st century that took place in 2010.  As a Catholic I was very interested to read about the coming together of the Catholic and Jewish religions.  I also wanted to get a clearer picture of the man who is pope.

I found this dialogue to be eye-opening and heart-warming.  There were no subjects that were NOT discussed and I found the openness between these two men of faith to be very rewarding.  The most valuable lesson I learned from this book is that we need to treat others according to our faith in God.  It doesn’t matter which denomination we are part of, we must love each other and treat each other accordingly.

It was very refreshing to me to see just what Pope Francis brings to our Catholic faith.  I am so inspired by his new ideas for our church.  I see an openness to accept those who were previously prevented from full communion with our Catholic church and a real desire to have full communication with other denominations of Christians and especially with those of the Jewish faith.  I am so glad that the Pope is so willing to effect change within the walls of the Vatican, which for too long has not had the good of the “little people” in the forefront.

I think that this book should be read by anyone who has faith in God and who seeks to be more accepting of those who are different, by faith…by sexual orientation…by baptized or non-baptized.  We need to make ourselves more open to dialogue between Jew and Christian.  I found this book to be a straightforward look into the faith and ideals that Pope Francis can bring to his position as head of one of the largest religions in the world.

I received a free print copy of this book in return for my honest review from Waterbrook Multnomah and BloggingforBooks.com.

Leave a Reply

