“A Bride for All Seasons” – Collection by Various Authors

“A Bride for All Seasons” is a collection of stories about mail order brides by various authors, published by Thomas Nelson.  The connecting theme and connection is the Hitching Post Mail Order Bride Catalogue, whose editor is Melvin Hitchcock.  He takes it as his personal responsibility to see that the ads in his publication are answered and marriages made.  However, he tries to help the poor souls along by changing any wording in their ads or answers that he feels would be detrimental to the success of the contact.  These corrections cause some problems between the characters in each story.  Some are really hilarious and fun to read.  The outcomes are successful, but the route to their success is different for each story.

“And Then Came Spring” by Margaret Brownley is the first story in the collection.  Mary Jo Parker travels to Colton, Kansas to meet and marry Daniel Garrett, a lawyer in the town.  What she doesn’t plan on is what transpires when she steps off the train.

Debra Clopton wrote “An Ever After Summer”, the next story in the series.  Mathew McConnell is a widower with a small child who is looking for a mother for her.  Ellie Smith answers the ad and arrives in Honey Springs, Texas clutching her Bible to her chest.  Then the fun begins.

“Autumn’s Angel” is a story by Robin Lee Hatcher.  Luvena Abbott and her charges, nieces Elsie and Esmerelda, and nephew Ethan travel to Grand Coeur, Nebraska to meet Clay Birch.  Of course Melvin has been at it again, so the course of true love isn’t quite straight and narrow for Clay and Vena either.

“Winter Wedding Bells” is the last story in the collection and was written by Mary Connealy.  Megan McBride answers an ad from David Laramie who lives in Wyoming.  He is a widower with two little boys.  He has been told that he is dying and he wants to marry someone so that she can be a mother to his sons after he has passed.  Leave it to Melvin.  He has changed a few sentences around in their correspondence which provides some humorous episodes as they try to come to an understanding.

I have always liked reading collections from various authors.  These four stories are especially fun to read because of the common theme of the manipulations of the editor of the Bride Catalogue.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book in return for my honest review from Thomas Nelson Publishers and NetGalley.com 

I received a free Kindle copy of this book in return for my honest review from Thomas Nelson Publishers and NetGalley.com and for BookSneeze.com.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s