“The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns” by Margaret Dilloway

I have just finished “The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns” by Margaret Dilloway, who also wrote “How To Be An American Housewife”, published by Berkley.

When I started this book, I was not sure what I was getting into.  The story began with a sort of lesson on how to breed roses.  I suppose that’s because the main character of the story has high hopes of breeding a special rose that will be considered for propagation by the National Rose Society.  This hobby of the science teacher Galilee Garner is her life; that, and the continued treatment of her kidney disease by going to dialysis every other night.  Her life becomes more complicated by the arrival of her niece, the daughter of her estranged sister.  The novel then becomes the story of their efforts to live together in harmony.  They also find that they need each other.  Galilee Garner learns some lessons herself, along with the subject she teaches.

I had a hard time with this book.  There was so much text devoted to the propagating of her special rose and I really was not into this.  My aunt would LOVE this book…she plants only the best roses in her gardens.

I was sent this free print book from NightOwlReviews.com in return for my honest review.

One thought on ““The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns” by Margaret Dilloway

Leave a Reply

