“Lifetime” by Liza Marklund

Lifetime by Liza Marklund is a crime fiction novel.  I read this book for a review for Night Owl Reviews.  At first I found it difficult to read.  I’m not sure if it was because it is a Scandinavian crime novel or because of the story line.

I found it difficult to sort out all the characters in the novel.  It seemed as though there were several minor storylines running through it, all with different characters.  I’m not sure, if I were the heroine of the novel that I could keep up with myself at all.

The story opens with a policewoman and her partner responding to a “shots fired” call.  She finds that the suspect is her close friend, whom she finds in an almost catatonic state at the scene of the murder of her husband and kidnapping of her son, or so we are told.  Nina, the officer, is subsequently contacted by a news reporter interested in the case.  The follow-up by the reporter, Annika, finds a slew of potential suspects.  I was constantly drawn off the plot because of trying to pronounce the Scandinavian names of streets and towns throughout the novel.  I found this a difficult book to stay with.  However, the story does make you think throughout.

I think you will find this book interesting and the story very believable if you can get past the multitude of names involved.

I was sent a free print copy of Lifetime by nightowlreviews.com for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

