“Daughter of Jerusalem” by Joan Wolf

I was invited by Worthy Publishing to participate in the blog tour for Daughter of Jerusalem by Joan Wolf.  I am so glad that I decided to be part of this tour.  I would not have chosen to read this book otherwise.  Once I started this novel, I was eager to turn page after page.  The book is a fictional account of the life of Mary Magdalene, who was present at the crucifixion of Jesus Christ.

I really never thought of Mary as a biblical figure who interested me enough to look into her life.  Mary was the half-sister of Martha and Lazarus, two other prominent figures appearing in the biblical account of the life of Christ.  Of course, this work is fictional, but also is reminiscent of the times and the treatment of women.  In this account, Mary is portrayed as a good Jewish woman who follows the strict Jewish laws set forth by the Sanhedrin.  She is forced to follow the dictates of the times where women are not really looked upon as worthy.  I despaired with her when she was forced to marry an older man because of his wealth and because he desired her for her beauty.  She had to leave the love of her life, Daniel, who became a celibate scribe.  I rejoiced with her as she was freed of her sins by Jesus and became one of his disciples.  She met Jesus when he asked Simon Peter to follow him as a disciple.  Simon Peter had a wife, Rebecca, and five children.  Rebecca was not happy that Peter left his work and left her and the children alone to follow Jesus as he ministered to the people of Galilee and Capernaum.  However, all came to follow Jesus and his teachings.  I cried with her as she and Jesus’ mother, Mary and the disciple John followed Jesus to Calvary to be crucified.

I think you will find this book extremely interesting and the story very believable.

I was sent a free print advance reader’s copy of Daughter of Jerusalem by Worthy Publishing in return for my candid review.

Leave a Reply

