“True to the Law” by Jo Goodman

Jo Goodman wrote The Last Renegade, which I read previously, and as a companion novel, wrote True to the Law.   I enjoyed reading each one.  I recognized some of the characters who were noted in the second novel and that gave me a basis for things that occurred in the current novel.

Cobb Bridger was employed by Andrew Mackey to locate Gertrude Morrow, who had been a companion to his Aunt Charlotte.  He hinted that she had stolen something from her employer before she left and that he wanted her found.  He did not specify exactly what had been stolen.  Cobb found Tru Morrow working as a teacher in Bitter Springs, Wyoming.  He made her acquaintance and they began a courtship of sorts.  I was amused at the dialogue between them quite frequently throughout the story.  Tru’s friends in Bitter Springs were very much her champions as were the students she taught, especially two young boys.  They provided a comic relief.

I cannot expound further on the story line or I will give it away.  Suffice it to say, I read this novel in two days.  The only criticism I have is that the print was so small, my eyes were blurred.  I enjoyed the novel and will read others by Jo Goodman in the future.

I received a free print edition of this book from nightowlreviews.com in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

