The Winnowing Season” by Cindy Woodsmall

I heartily enjoyed “A Season for Tending by Cindy Woodsmall.  Since then I have been waiting anxiously for the sequel to that book, “The Winnowing Season”.  I finally was able to read the second book in the Amish Vines and Orchards Series.  I must say that I enjoyed this book as well as I did the first book of the series.  The books seem to revolve around Rhoda Byler and her penchant for trouble.  It seems that she sees and hears visions and voices which sometimes draw her into areas that cause her personal problems.  It is a story of two families, the Bylers and the Kings and their desire to reestablish an orchard in Maine away from their Amish community.  They are working day and night to accomplish this.

However, there are many secrets shared and also not shared with the members of both families.  Rhoda’s “gift” has caused her to be hurt and disillusioned by those most dear to her heart.  She is trying not to pay attention to the voices and premonitions which cause her to be involved in things that she shouldn’t and continue to cause her problems within her community.

I am hoping that there will be a third book in the series.  I think that there will be because of the ending of this novel lends itself to a sequel.  I very much like the style of Ms. Woodsmall’s writing and am determined to read all of her books.  I always enjoy the simple life of the Amish and I like the way Ms. Woodsmall intertwines that kind of life with those of Englishers in her novels.  It provides a contrast that is easily understood as you read the books.

I received a free print copy of this book from the publisher, WaterBrook Press Multnomah in return for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

