”The Union Street Bakery” by Mary Ellen Taylor

I found a book that intrigued me from the first page!  This novel has family troubles, love interests, historical drama, “haints”, and a really good story line.   I loved reading  ”The Union Street Bakery” by Mary Ellen Taylor.  What a story!  We begin with Daisy McCrae coming back to live with her family after her promising career in the corporate financial world collapses along with the stock market.  Not only has she lost her job, but she is nursing a broken heart.  She comes home to work in the family bakery in Alexandria, Virginia, and make it a paying effort.  This bakery has been in existence since before the Civil War and is part of a history that needs to be remembered.

Daisy isn’t exactly a part of the McCrae family.  Her mother left her at their bakery when she was three years old and the McCrae’s adopted her and raised her as their own.   Daisy has long been “in touch” with Susie, a companion of her childhood.  Is Susie real?  Where does Daisy fit in?  You have to read this book to find out.  I do believe in the spirit world and there is just enough connection between Daisy and the spirits to keep me very interested.

Poor Daisy must decide if she belongs in the corporate world or if she needs to put her skills into bringing the Union Street Bakery back to its original glory.  I promise that you will not put this book down until you’ve read every last word.

I would highly recommend purchasing this book. I would give it 4.5 stars out of 5.  I received a free print copy of this book in return for my honest review from the publisher, Penguin and Night Owl Reviews. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

