“The Rancher’s Secret Wife” by Brenda Minton

“The Rancher’s Secret Wife” by Brenda Minton is published by Love Inspired Books.    Cheyenne Jones is pregnant and pulling up in front of the Cooper home in Dawson, Oklahoma, to check on Reese Cooper.  It seems she was notified that he had been injured in the line of duty and she needed to know how he was doing.

Reese Cooper had been on his way overseas when he ran into Cheyenne in Las Vegas.  They married in order that her baby would have a name and so that in the event that Reese didn’t return from the war, she would inherit his life insurance.  They corresponded during the time that they were apart, even though this “marriage” was to be annulled immediately upon his return.  This information has to be gleaned as you read the story, because this was not part of the beginning of the story.

Reese is blinded during an attack and returns home to recover, not believing that he has much to offer anyone at this point in his life.  Cheyenne has no one and nowhere to live and is on her way “somewhere” when she decides to check on Reese.  Of course there is a connection between the two and many pitfalls before both decide how to go on with their lives…with each other or without.

I liked this story, but felt as though I had missed most of it. I feel as if I started reading this this book in the middle of the story instead of from page one.  I wanted to know what happened to Cheyenne before she met Reese.  I wanted to know how their correspondence helped them know each other.  I just felt that I was missing something throughout the book.  If there is a prequel to this book, I would like to read it and then read “The Rancher’s Secret Wife” again.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book in return for my honest review from the publisher.  The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

