“The Legacy of Eden” by Janelle Davy

“The Legacy of Eden” by Janelle Davy was a book that I was prepared to really like.  I thought I would lose myself in the story; instead I lost my way in the story.  To explain, the book is about a family’s farm, Aurelia.  It’s the story of how it was passed down through generations.  It’s the story of Meredith, Ava, Julia, and Lavinia and other assorted family members.  The book is supposed to be divided into four sections, each telling the story of one of the characters.  I found that this was very confusing.  I was constantly trying to determine just who this person was and where he or she fit in the story.  I felt that the story was very depressing and I was not motivated to finish it as quickly as I usually do when reading a book.

I would probably want to read it again in a while, but with a different attitude and a conscious effort to place all the people in the right generation, which I found very difficult to do at my first reading of the book.  This is the story of family, love, jealousy, greed, and determination.  I would recommend it only if it can be read as a serious novel and not as a light read.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book for my honest review from the publisher. The opinions expressed here are my own.

You can read this review on my blog at  http://wp.me/p2pjIt-4l, and on GoodReads.com at http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/524284793.

Leave a Reply

