“Travis” by Georgian Gentry

“Travis” by Georgian Gentry is one of a series of books called “The Texans”.  It is the story of a Texas Ranger who is injured in a gunfight and is not able to shoot with precision any more.  Violet is a dance hall girl who is trying to get out of this life, find a husband and have a family.  A group of four orphans from an orphan train is stranded in their town and look to Violet to help them.  She decides to pretend to be much younger and joins the orphans to find a new home.  They happen upon Travis and sort of attach themselves to him.  After a time, Travis looks upon these five as his kids.  Of course, Violet takes on the role of “mother” to the lot of them.  Travis is drawn to her, but thinks that she is only thirteen and unavailable to him.  The story revolves around this rag-tag bunch finding themselves as a family and living happily.  Of course, there is the brothel owner who is trying to find Violet because she ran away from him.  The ending is both a surprise and satisfying.  You will enjoy this book.

I received a free print copy of this book for my honest review from the publisher. The opinions expressed here are my own.





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s