“Innocent Heart” by Millie Ledford Lee

“Innocent Heart” by Millie Ledford Lee was an historical romance set in Kentucky.  I really enjoyed this book.  It’s the story of Faith Boone, her dictatorial father, Jedidiah, is a preacher who mysteriously and quickly moved himself and Faith from Berea, Kentucky to another small town in Kentucky.  Faith is not allowed to even talk to men.  She is to dress in drab, shapeless dresses and is not allowed to go anywhere except with her father.

On a trip into town, she almost falls from the wagon seat, but is caught by Morgan Tremain, who is part Indian.  Morgan is a surveyor for the railroad and the son of a plantation owner in Virginia.  He is an upstanding person and well-liked by most of the townspeople.  However, there are always those people who are out to destroy anyone who is not of their heritage.

Faith and Morgan care for each other, but Faith’s father is hell-bent on keeping Faith as a house slave for himself.  There is always an undercurrent though which made me feel that something was just not right with Jedidiah’s insistence that Faith remain an unmarried girl, catering to her father.   When a murder is committed, Morgan is blamed.  Faith races to save him from a lynch mob, but is stopped by her father.  The story really gets interesting from this point.

I would highly recommend this book.  I didn’t want to stop reading for any reason and kept at it until I my eyes were bleary and red, but I finished it.  I think this was one of my favorite books so far.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book for my honest review from the publisher. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

