“Autumn Winds” by Charlotte Hubbard

Charlotte Hubbard has written a series of books called Seasons of the Heart.  I just finished reading “Autumn Winds”, the second book in this series.  I really enjoyed this book and the story of a quaint little town in Missouri where there are many Amish families.  Miriam Lantz is a widow with three grown daughters who is making her living running a bakery and dining establishment.  As she was baking early one morning an Amish man, Ben Hooley, has an accident in front of her establishment during a storm.  She helps him in, gives him breakfast and makes sure that he is not injured.  They form a strong friendship that quickly becomes more than that.  As things progress, Ben decides to bring his brothers to Willow Ridge to start a mill. Bishop Knepp, a widower, has other plans for Miriam.  He wants Miriam to marry him, mainly to care for his children.  The problems that arise between the bishop and Ben’s plans to locate in Willow Ridge provide a wonderful story.  I really want to read the whole series, because I’m sure I missed a lot by not reading the first novel in this series, “Summer of Secrets”.  I can’t wait to find out what I missed.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book for my honest review from the publisher.  The opinions expressed here are my own.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s