“Daybreak” by Shelley Shepard Gray

“Daybreak” by Shelley Shepard Gray is a novel set in the Amish country of Ohio.  The story line is about Viola Keim, her family, and Edward Swartz and his son.  The relationships become more involved the longer you read on.  Viola comes from a pretty dysfunctional family whose members are keeping secrets.  These family members are so much more judgmental than I would have guessed the Amish to be.  Into this mix comes Edward Swartz, a missionary on leave from assignment.  He and Viola form a relationship, but it seems to be on-again, off-again for the most part.  This is also a novel about coming of age of family members, grandparents, parents, children and siblings and how their family intrigues affect those around them.  I really liked this book, but I was also irritated by it too.  I thought that even though the characters for the most part preached honesty, they were not honest with each other about their lives and relationships.  I sometimes wanted to smack a couple of them to make them DO something about the paths their lives were taking them and making them so miserable.  This novel took a toll on me emotionally because I was constantly involved in the characters’ lives.  It is a good book, but you must have the right outlook to read it.

I received a free copy of this book for my honest review from the publisher.  The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

