“Honor O’Flynn” by James Bailey

I chose to read “Honor O’Flynn” by James Bailey because I really enjoy reading about historical themes.  I was drawn to this novel because of the title and because of the synopsis that I read before requesting this title.  At first I was a little irritated by the manner of speaking which the characters used throughout the book.  Then I realized that the author was trying to recreate the real life that the colonists lead, not only by the description of the clothing, the manner of transport, but also by their way of speaking.  After I crossed this hurdle, I was left to enjoy reading this story.  The only criticism I have of this novel is of the heroine, Honor O’Flynn.  I know she wanted to go back home.  I know she wanted to follow God’s imagined plan for her life.  I know she did not want to wed.  But I grew tired of reading about it.  That seemed to be the only thing she could say.  I did see that her immaturity in the beginning of the story gave way to her becoming a warm, compassionate companion for William.  It seems that the story is about Honor’s growing up.  I would recommend this as an interesting study of the early colonists in Maryland.

I received a free Kindle copy of this book for my honest review from the publisher.  The opinions expressed here are my own.

Leave a Reply

