“Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter” by Seth Grahame-Smith

I read “Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter” by Seth Grahame-Smith at the request of my friend.  I didn’t want to read it because I’m really not into the vampire-zombie-supernatural plots.  I was intrigued by the book which blended real history with bloody supernatural beings.  I am adrift in explaining my feelings about this book, so bear with me.  I was very interested in the beginning of the book which detailed Lincoln’s family life in Virginia, Kentucky and Indiana, mainly because I know where these areas are and have visited the Lincoln homestead area in Indiana.  I read the historical parts of the book with interest.  However, the notion that Abraham Lincoln started killing vampires when a young man was a totally off-the-wall thing to read.  I think there may be some symbolism that I am missing here.  I know that Lincoln (as a vampire killer) became aware that vampires were trying to take over the United States and were in the form of some very famous and influential political figures of the time.  Also noted in the book was the fact that slavery provided slaveholders (who were also vampires) a source of blood for their sustenance.  I think I may be very dense because I truly was not into the story line of this book at all and couldn’t even think how to relate these events to the truth, even by symbolism.  I much preferred Bill O’Reilly’s “Killing Lincoln” as a tale of this time period.  If you are into the supernatural and don’t mind a lot of blood and gore, you may like this book.  Personally, I am going to return this book to my friend and say “thank you”, but I will withhold giving a great review.  I appreciate the opportunity to have read this best-seller.

Leave a Reply

