“Emily and Einstein” by Linda Francis Lee

When I started “Emily and Einstein” I was a little apprehensive about reading a dog story.  However, after I read the first chapter, I was hooked.  This is a story about a marriage more than a story about a dog.  It’s the story of a very self-absorbed rich man, Sandy, and a trusting, lovely girl, Emily, who has given her heart to him.  They have only been married for four years.  On the way to meet Emily for dinner ,Sandy is killed in an accident.  I thought that this would be the basis of the story, but I was wrong.  Sandy actually was meeting Emily for dinner to tell her he was going to divorce her. Sandy is reincarnated as a little dog that Emily adopts from the shelter where she volunteers.  His job as a dog is to help Emily recover and go on with life. Sandy is so clueless that it takes a while before he finds out what he is to do.  He thinks that he will do his “doggy” job and turn back into a live person the way he was before.  This book was interesting because if flipped back and forth…one chapter would be Einstein the dog talking and the next chapter would be Emily’s.  I was really engrossed in this story because I really liked Emily and didn’t particularly care for Einstein, who started out thinking only of himself.  It was rewarding to see how the story unfolded and how Einstein was really the one who was saved.  I really liked this book; it’s a keeper!

One thought on ““Emily and Einstein” by Linda Francis Lee

  1. This sounds like a good book. I’m into books as well and read all sorts although prefer the murder-mystery type. I’ll be looking for this one at the bookshop. I love your blog and plan to do a blog about book reviews someday. If you haven’t read it yet, I suggest “Jacob Have I Loved” by Katherine Paterson. It’s such a lovely story. Will watch out for more of your reviews. God bless!

    Like

Leave a Reply

